top of page
 Semi-Classical        Events Choreography
History of Bharatanatyam:
It's one of the most ancient yet popular classical dance forms of India, and is practiced by males and females all over the world.  The Origin of the name comes from Bharata Muni, who wrote the Natya Shastra, to which Bharatanatyam owes many of its ideas.  It originated around 2nd century B.C in the temples of South India, initially practiced and performed by young beautiful girls called Devdasis.  They were called Devdasis because they used to be married to the god and spent all their lives worshipping by perfecting their dance technique and performing this sacred dance as a part of the temple ceremonies.

Today this art form has moved to the stage and gained image of highly stylized refined classical art form. Bharatanatyam, when broken into its syllables:

Bha- bhava or expression

Ra- raga or melody

Ta- tala or rhythm




  1. Pranam/Namashkar with its meaning.

  2. Dance steps (adavus) of Pandanallur-style Bharatanatyam (From Tattadavu to Jaathi adavu -> 8 Lessons containing 35 Adavus)

  3. Single hand gestures (Asamyuta Hastas).

  4. Double hand gestures (Samyuta Hastas)

  5. Dance hand gestures (Nrutha Hastas)

  6. Basic theory of Bharatanatyam, Components of Bharatanatyam, Benefits of Bharatanatyam, Styles of Bharatanatyam, Terms used in Bharatanatyam and their definitions.

  7. Execercises helful specifically to do Bharatanatyam will be practiced in class.

  8. Basic Asanas(Yoga postures) that are helpful for dance will be taught and practiced.

  9. Classes focus on developing balance and alignment in Samapada(Standing position), aramandi(Half-sit posture) and natyarambha/sthanaka(starting) positions. 

  10. Practice test will be given to srudents at the end of Beginner level that will include theory and practicals.


Beginner II

  1. Adavus will continue to be taught.  (From Yegaru Mettadavu to Sutraladavu -> 7 lessons containing 24 adavus).

  2. Head movements(Shiro bhedas).

  3. Neck movements (Greeva Bhedas).

  4. Eyes Movements (Dhrishti Bhedas).

  5. Eyebrows movements (Bhroo Bhedas).

  6. Shiva as the king of dance will be introduced.

  7. More Asanas will be taught and practiced.

  8. Origin and history of Bharatanatyam will be introduced.


Beginner III

  1. Adavus will continue to be taught.  (From Thandava Adavu to Ardhi -> 7 lessons containing 9 adavus)

  2. Supporting dance movements such as Greeva(neck), Kara(hand) and Nadae(walk) will be taught.

  3. Small jathis and phrases will be introduced in this session to begin preparation for the intermediate level. 

  4. Abhinaya and it's types, Navarasa and Sapta talas will be introduced in theory.

  5. Carnatic music and instruments will be introduced in theory.

  6. Sessions will culminate in learning short dance sequences (jathis).  Younger students will experience creative teaching methods to keep motivated and excited about the style.

Students will start learning items from the Bharatanatyam margham, or solo performance repertoire.  This includes items such as Pushpanjali, Alarippu, and Jathiswaram. Students will focus on developing rhythmic and musical skills that can be applied to the item they are learning.  The slokas, hastas, and viniyogas (uses) of different hand gestures begin to be explored here.  Proper alignment, placement of the body, and different applications of the adavus reveal themselves in this class.  Theory will continue to be taught a little more in detail.



Students will continue learning items from the Bharatanatyam margam.  Please call for more information on Advanced levels.  Assessing one’s basic and intermediate skills are necessary before joining Advanced levels.

bottom of page